Behind the curve

So it’s been what, a week now, and my main char still hasn’t made it out of Tier1, as they say. “Made it out,” like it’s what — a prison term? an obligation? a transitory state to be abandoned asap? everyone’s duty?

Yes yes, any game with levels sort of demands that one progresses through those levels. Actually, no it doesn’t. If I want to have a character at level 3 for the next 2 years, that’s my choice. I pays my money and I does my quests, or not as I see fit. And I’m not just talking about low level crafting mules.

Just because the stuffed rabbit rushes around the track doesn’t mean this bitch has to follow; and even if it does, I’ll follow at my own pace.

Alright, topic hijack. Let’s make this not about the curve and where one should be on it a week – a month – a year down the line, but rather about giving other people the space to play the game as they see fit. It’s their fifteen bucks. If they’re going too slowly for you, too bad. If they’re going too fast for you, suck it up! This goes for me too, with my mildly-anxious “stop pushing me to level!” reaction to, probably, nothing.

I just don’t like to do what I’m told. I shall extend that courtesy to others. I’ll respect your playstyle and your levelling pace if you respect mine. Never gonna happen, but a girl can dream.

(PS My alts haven’t made it out of T1 either. You think those are related? Really?)

5 thoughts on “Behind the curve

  1. I’m right there with ya. I have one job already, don’t need another unless it pays really well.

    Who’s pressuring ya? I’ll send some of the boys over to break their mouse fingers. :)

  2. Ahem… actually, it’s instinct that the bitch will chase the rabbit so they can’t really help it can they? But then you’re talking about you and the game and the game isn’t really a stuffed rabbit is it? ;) (okay, you’re not really a bitch either… hehe)

    I can’t blame you for holding back and enjoying the first tier. I actually enjoyed it the most. I enjoyed it so much that I created a bunch of alts and played around with them; Black Ork, Sorcerer, Magus and even a Chosen. Heck, I might start working on my Goblin shaman.

  3. <— JoBildo

    I’m actually amazed that I’m out of T1. I got 14 hours played in the 2 days I took off to play… I made it to 9. Did not expect to, but apparently Scenarios are XP heaven. I find that doing PvE in general is much slower. Which is a weird thing to get used to.

    Now quite as slow as you, but I am only playing 1 character total, so I think 13 is respectably slow. :)

  4. Alt-a-holism is an incurable disease. I should know, I’ve had it for years!

    Rolled an AM last night and shoved myself in Khaine’s a few times at level 2, which is interesting… I don’t know why you spawn after death facing away from the damned battlefield; you’d think after the number of deaths I faced I’d learn by now to spin around on the spot but no, there I go, running at a wall until my brain kicks in and I head back up the hill, usually in time for the Boom Of Doom(TM) to catch me and send me to my death – again!

Leave a Reply

