A large step for CoX, an even bigger one for MMOs

coxmissionarchitectjpgI wasn’t going to comment on NCSoft’s new Mission Architect system, planned to go live sometime in March, largely because plenty of others have already done so, but then it occurred to me that more exposure for a good idea can’t hurt. Even if you don’t play CoX (and I don’t, right now), it’s worth a look at how NCSoft designed this, especially if you’re one of the people who believe, as I do, that (some degree of) user-generated content has got to be in the future of MMOs. It’s probably not the only answer down that road, but I suspect it’s a prominent part of it.

Look at crafting/trading: whether it’s in fantasy-WoW or scifi-EVE, there’s no real, dynamic trade if there’s no way for consumers to request supply from producers. Sure, you can post stuff on auction houses, but that’s largely a case of post and pray. More to the point, if you make FoozleNoses and Bob needs 100 FoozleNoses but NONE have sold on the AH in the last 3 weeks, you’re unlikely to be making and selling any since there appears to be no demand, and Bob starts to believe FoozleNoses just don’t exist. 

Enter purchase orders. I’m pretty sure EVE had them, but my memory is at best coy and at worst downright mendacious, so forgive me if I’m wrong. EVE *should* have them if it doesn’t. Hell, every game should have them. Sadly, it’s much, much easier to design an Auction House interface that it is to work out a proper purchase order system to go with it… even though the latter isn’t exactly rocket science. Some games have them, or had them — I’m pretty sure Horizons (remember that?) had one back in the day.

Sure, you could do what businesses in real life do and have done for millennia: find someone who makes what you want and go to them to place your order. They may be next door, down the street, in the next county or in the next country, but what doing business is all about.

Except I’m not DOING business in an MMO, I’m PLAYING at doing business. There is a real, huge difference. It’s not that we’re not taking it seriously, but play /= work. When kids play make-believe, they do it quite seriously, with proper attention to what they’re doing. That doesn’t mean they’re working at it. And when I run a business in an MMO (or try to, most games make it damn near impossible to play as anything other than a glorified medieval Gordon Gecko), I take it seriously but I do not want to have it become work. I’ve been there, and it’s called SWG, and is closely followed by the slouching Burnout Beast.

Trying to make contact in game with someone who sold something I need on the AH and thus may or may not actually produce what I need on a regular basis, and then getting them to supply me — have Devs actually TRIED doing that, ever? It was hard enough in SWG, which is a game predicated around player trading and crafting (or was) and which has a relatively robust email system. And seriously… I have to try to contact someone who may or may not log on, may or may not speak English (or whatever I speak), may or may not respond, and then may or may not actually adhere to our agreement, with no obligation or accountability on their part at any point in this process? (Or on mine, for that matter.) So maybe, in a few weeks, if I get lucky, I’ll have the FoozleNoses I need? No thanks. Neither am I going to sit in TradeHub001 making endless requests on a chat channel — sure, that might have been how it was done in EQ back in the day and how it’s done in WoW now, but that doesn’t make it a GOOD way, it makes it a “we couldn’t be arsed to cater to crafters so you’re just going to have to spam a channel” Dev-way.

I’m not saying I want everything now and I want everything easily. I’m certainly not saying I want to be able to do everything myself, because a trading game (or sub-game) by definition needs people to interact with or it’s a lot less entertaining. But, if I’m going to “seriously play” at being a trader, then I need a vaguely reliable, timely way of contracting suppliers. THAT isn’t rocket science either. Purrrchaaaase Orrrders. It’s not that hard to say, and it’s not that hard to design.

And that’s just for trading — heck, you could restrict it to materials-trading or whatever you want if you didn’t want to kill your Auction House, though I seriously doubt that would happen anyway. Some people like to order, some people like to browse. No reason you can’t please both.

I’ve pondered “player-generated content” before and, sad to say, my imagination usually lets me down. That’s because our MMOs have become variants on “Kill Ten Rats” and the only real ideas I could come up with were… you guessed it. But then I remembered SWG’s new(ish) Storytelling mini-system — you can buy props, stage settings, effects doohickeys (smoke machines), NPCs, monsters, whatever — and you can place them, load them up with lines and/or treasure, and voila: user-generated content. It can be a show, it can be a treasure hunt, it can be an epic fight. Or it can be all three — bird, plane, pterodactyl!

So here’s what I think: if we players are given the tools, I suspect we’ll come up with some pretty non-killtenrats stuff. Maybe not all of us, maybe not even most of us — but most Neverwinter Nights players never made a dungeon and there were still enough talented guys who *did* that you could be playing them till 2012 and never have to make one of your own. We don’t ALL have to be content-creators — but being empowered to become one is going to be a huge step forward. I’ll be fascinated to see how the Mission Architect system works in practice, when it’s launched. If I’ve the funds, I may even have to resub to CoX just to try it. Who else plays, and where?

11 thoughts on “A large step for CoX, an even bigger one for MMOs

  1. Eve does indeed have purchase or buy orders. In fact, when you vendor an item you are in fact selling to the highest-paying buy order within the range of your station. That’s how Jita 4-4 became such a trade hub as the most lucrative buy and sell orders can usually be found there.

  2. EVE has purchase orders, and, to be honest, would be unplayable without them.

    Why they don’t exist in other games is a complete mystery to me.

    Mind you, there’s another element of the EVE ‘crafting’ system that makes it more fun – the stuff you’re making at the very bottom of the industrial chain is still in use throughout the game. So even if you’re rolling out single sets of ammunition to get the hang of the system, it’s still going to be bought and used.

    An easy step toward this in WoW would be to make high-level items, ideally the consumables, use low-level materials as well as high-level ones. So if there’s a continuing demand for, say, copper, to make high-level items, or even better, a Handful of Copper Bolts for high-level non-engineering items.

    I’m sure there’s a reason this isn’t done, but I can’t think what it would be.

  3. It would be interesting to see what Saga of Ryzom players came up with via Ryzom Ring, their user-generated mission system.

    Sadly my curiosity isn’t strong enough to convince me to re-subscribe to the game. :)

    And clearly CoX has a much larger userbase than Ryzom does.

  4. Pingback: weekend links « confessions of a WAR rvr player

  5. I have never played EvE, but the thought of system of buying and selling orders take me way back almost 8 years ago when I remembered playing an Japanese MMO called StarXross (i think that’s how they translate it, its now under square-enix’s care)

    I remembering being a Potion maker and I would put up my products on the system and from there people would actully give me orders through emails and it is fun to meet those demands!

    It is quite odd not seeing this system to be implemented more often but then thinking about the crafting systems of the current games, the system probably won’t work.

    But thanks a lot for letting me remembering the past memories =D

  6. I think one of the most important features for a player-generated content system is to have universality between various quests/missions/dungeons/worlds that people can create. The problem for me with Neverwinter Nights is that each world had its own ‘house rules’ that you had to learn, which just became too much of a pain to keep up with.

    The Mission Architect system doesn’t sound like it’s making that mistake, and it’s got an in-game player rating / dev recommended system, so I am very much looking forward to seeing how it goes.

  7. @ Melf but tabletop RPGs are all about houserules, at least among all the game(r)s I’ve seen, so it was to be expected. Also, the NWN community was largely independent of the commercial game itself, meaning there weren’t any guildelines or constraints. I think if a player-content-creation tool is offered within an MMO, it will be (and probably can’t avoid being) more restrictive.

  8. Pingback: What She Said 2 « Tish Tosh Tesh

  9. Eve has buy orders. I think one of the failures of Pirates of the Burning Sea was that its auction houses did NOT have buy orders and therefore did not have a way for players to express the desire for goods. This meant that players only sold goods in a few central ports and outlying and more remote ports had almost nothing except maybe loot from killing NPCs and quest drops. But I’m just an armchair designer so what do I know.

Leave a Reply

