Haiku Sunday, March 1st 2009

haikumarch1_2009In honour of my mother’s birthday yesterday, today’s theme is family. Yes, even dysfunctional ones. ;)

You cannot choose them
Yet what pain, when you lose them
A tear in the heart

I don’t see them much
Separated by oceans
Still, they are with me.

These aren’t directly about Mum — the first had my grandad suddenly pop into my head, as he tends to do (he died a few months ago). The second is mostly about my sibs, and about my life within an “exploded” country- and continent-spanning family. It may seem tough from the outside, but it’s what I’m used to. You don’t need to be in someone’s pocket to be close to them.

Ah, maudlin and fuzzy. Just like me, having woken up not long ago. Please, come and improve on my efforts!

(Standard haiku measure is 5 syllables / 7 syllables / 5 syllables, for those unfamiliar. One principle is to move from the specific (e.g. a flower) to the more generally meaningful (e.g. the impermanence of life) through some reference to nature; there are many other underlying principles for a “proper” haiku and I have yet to live up to any of them, partly because I can’t write in Japanese — but just trying to fit a decently interesting idea into the 5-7-5 metre can be a challenge in itself. Have a go!)

3 thoughts on “Haiku Sunday, March 1st 2009

  1. damn, missed it and it’s monday now. But, on the good side – I did recruit Spinks for the haiku sundays of the future!

  2. In just a few days
    my mother will turn sixty-two.
    Oh, how I miss her.

    I live in L.A.
    And she in Australia.
    Between us, an ocean.

    Still, better than Dad.
    The barrier between us
    is more permanent…

Leave a Reply

