Home > DragonAge, Gaming > Dragon Age bonus items: warning, Will Robinson

Dragon Age bonus items: warning, Will Robinson

sadpandaThis is a pretty specific thing, so it’s difficult to give warning without spoilers, but here goes. If you’re playing a noble dwarf and you’ve got any kind of bonus items (like the Memory Band, those Skill/Attribute tomes, and other stuff), you might want to either use them for the one-shot items or not get too attached to them for the rest.

The spousal unit just realised he’d missed out on using his. How he realised is because I opened my big mouth, so I’m currently writing this from under the desk as he throws things and howls with rage. Well, maybe not quite howling.

It’s only a game after all, but it’s irritating to be 12 hours into the campaign and realise you didn’t use items when you could have and now you don’t have them at all anymore. Come to think of it, those wearable items would be gone regardless, meaning that anyone who plays the Dwarf noble caste Origin story is going to get similarly screwed.

While this is probably relatively minor in the context of the game/progression as a whole, that would still irritate me and it’s a bit of a glaring oversight.

EDIT – as Winged Nazgul pointed out below, this workaround will return the downloadable items to your inventory. I didn’t get the Memory Band back, but I can’t recall what gave that in the first place and besides all it does is give a 1% XP bonus; while that probably adds up to a fair amount over the course of the whole game, it’s not a big deal to me not to have it. Five or ten percent and I might be singing a different tune. Anyway, thanks againWN!

WORKAROUND:

  • Save the game
  • Quit to menu
  • Desactivate dragon armor dlc (and any other item-giving content)
  • load the game and FORCE LOAD
  • Save in another slot (just in case)
  • reactivate DLC items previously turned off
  • Load the new save
  • You should have the armor in your inventory.
Categories: DragonAge, Gaming Tags:
  1. November 8, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Can’t you uncheck and recheck the DLC thingy to reinsert the item back into your inventory?

    • November 8, 2009 at 10:08 am

      Good question — I’ll have to try that, especially since right now my little exiled noble dorf rogue is in the front running to be the one I play through the rest of the campaign. :D

  2. November 8, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Not playing DA:O so don’t know if these directions work but anyways, http://social.bioware.com/forum/1/topic/47/index/84720

    – Save the game

    – Quit to menu

    – Desactivate dragon armor dlc

    – load the game and FORCE LOAD

    – Save in another slot (just in case)

    – reactivate DLC

    – Load the new save

    – You should have the armor in your inventory.

    • November 8, 2009 at 11:31 am

      Thanks for that! :D

  3. November 8, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I don’t even know what the memory band does.

  4. smakendahed
    November 9, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I was working on a spoilerish/walthrough entry about the starters I’ve done but they were getting really long and I’d much rather be playing it.

    I did stumble over this as well, thanks for the tip on how to fix it.

    I’ve done the Human Noble, City Elf, Dalish Elf and Noble Dwarf starters and I’ve enjoyed them all. I ended up going with the Human Noble. I did a second reroll on it because I advanced the story on the first one and the Blight… well… broke some of my quests.

    One warning about the PC version, it can leak (or utilize without releasing) a lot of memory over long play sessions. In some cases people experience getting blocked because certain doors do not unlock. You might also notice this when loading zones slow down or there is a big gap in time between a creature becoming a corpse and that corpse becoming lootable.

    The solution is to exit the game entirely (I know! It hurts to do that!) all the way down to your desktop and make sure the process ends. That will release the memory and make things run smoothly.

  5. November 9, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    I believe the Memory Band is from pre-ordering DA:O from Amazon.

  6. November 12, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Thanks, very informative stuff here.
    Keep it up

    Tom

  7. EtenoCite
    February 11, 2010 at 2:58 am

    i seriously adore all your posting way, very remarkable,
    don’t quit and also keep posting as a result it just simply well worth to look through it.
    looking forward to browse through much of your current content pieces, enjoy your day :)

  8. Paul Stuart
    February 11, 2010 at 9:47 am

    I can not say I love this game, I think it is really normal. It is worth to game but will only hold you entertained for more than a couple of weeks. I would say that you should try CoD or game of life for instance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 382 other followers

