Home > Crafting, Design, EQ2, MMO > En Garde!

En Garde!

No, not the play-by-mail game of the 80s and 90s (and if you know what I’m talking about, many props!). Rather, Syp’s thrown down the gauntlet to EQ2 players to give him 5 ways in which EQ2 is better than WoW. Since both games launched at almost the same time 5 years ago, it’s a good challenge.

I’m not generally a fan of numbered lists but this one does interest me, not in any spirit of WoW-bashing but more to examine why I’ve spent more time in EQ2 than in any other game since Asheron’s Call, my first MMO. We originally played it for a year in 2005-2006, then left for greener pastures. I don’t recall wanting to leave the game as such, I think it was more the lure of greener, shinier things “over there” — including various betas like Vanguard. I returned to EQ2 in April this year and have been playing it consistently ever since. The only game that’s lured me away for any length of time has been Dragon Age, and even that is on hold until I decide I’m willing to drag Kaitou’s bored backside through the end of the Fade section.

For the benefit of those new to this blog, you need to know the following about my playstyle to understand how I judge games: I am a crafter who adventures as a hobby; if it’s shiny, it must be picked up, no matter the danger; if it’s harvestable, ditto. I avoid raid-type stuff at all costs, primarily because I’m not motivated by the item-treadmill reward such raids offer, but also because I find them (much like other people view crafting) to be a rather tedious waste of time better spent doing something else. The only exceptions to my item-disinterest include anything that can be used to decorate a house or anything silly that can be used to decorate a player.

Snow White and the Shard of Love (I'm the dwarf on the far right)

So, the list, per Ysh.

1. Crafting. While the process itself is as repetitive and ultimately tedious (for many) as in any other MMO, the “sphere” of crafting, to intentionally borrow from Vanguard, really is independent from adventuring in EQ2. You don’t need to be a level 50 adventurer in order to be a level anything crafter, which was something that turned me off WoW both times I’ve played it. Crafting is the core of my gameplay, not the side-dish. There are many other things that fit into this category, like the plethora of crafter quests that are constantly being added to, that make EQ2 one of the few games that genuinely understand and cater to the crafting playerbase — not the adventuring playerbase that also happens to craft when they can’t get a group.

2. Guild Halls. Quite a few games have guild halls now, but not many of them offer the communal amenities EQ2’s guilds & halls can offer to their guild-based communities. Aside from being very grand buildings with tons of decoration options, guild halls can offer bankers, brokers (think auction house), crafting stations, adventuring/crafting writ givers, and a ton of other stuff that’s normally found in the outside world. The downside is that guild halls have become the social hubs of the game, emptying out city areas that were already underpopulated due to the weird partitioned way in which the two primary capital cities were originally designed. On the other hand, however, most guild halls are at least partly open to the public which means they can become genuine alternative meeting places.

3. Housing. Most other EQ2 players will mention this, I suspect, because it’s one of the most glaring lacks in WoW. If you like housing and you’re playing WoW, you’re SOL, to pile on the TLAs. Aside from the fact that it’s at least offered in EQ2, it also comes in eleventy-zillion different flavours — each city has its own distinct housing look and several different room-counts and layouts to choose from. In Freeport and Qeynos houses you can actually change the texture of walls, floors and ceilings. Furniture can be dropped freeform and moved as you please — there’s no x-axis rotation (as there is now in SWG), but you can resize, move stuff up/down, and rotate on at least one axis, all of which is a lot better than simply being given hooks to hang things on, as in LOTRO. (As an aside, that LOTRO system is one Turbine used in Asheron’s Call housing back in 2001 — time for a change, guys!)

4. Mentoring. Unlike many games, WoW still doesn’t have a system to allow players of disparate levels to play together. That said, since WoW’s focus is now entirely on getting people to max level as fast as possible, it would be silly for them to include any such system, but that speaks to a fundamental difference between the two. EQ2’s levelling used to be really slow, compared to WoW, even back in the vanilla days; the curve has been flattened quite a bit in the intervening five years, but EQ2’s motto is not, and hopefully never will be, “The Game Begins at 80.” This always jarred me in WoW, was one of the things (along with … well, #1-3 above) that turned me off the game, and is I think one of the major contributors to the bad side of raid-based gaming — you know, elitist jerks and gear snobs. (Who are starting to come out of the woodwork in EQ2 as it starts to focus more and more on raiding. Oh, EQ2, step off this path before you become Brown-WoW!) Now in EQ2 you can mentor yourself down for no reason other than that you want to be a lower level again for a while, which reopens up a ton of previously greyed-out content — and trust me, there’s a LOT of content in EQ2.

5. It’s not a Theme Park. It’s not entirely a sandbox either, but one of the things many people who try EQ2 often end up saying is “I didn’t know what to do or where to start!” This is a frequent sandbox-type issue, and actually EQ2 has become a little friendlier to new players over the years, but it certainly doesn’t put you on rails and send you out along the Ride To 80, even today. For the type of player I am this is a definite plus rather than a weakness, because once you get past that head-spinning stage you end up faced with tons of possibilities whenever you log on. It doesn’t always come down to the only choice being adventuring — and I know that’s not the only choice in WoW, but since so much of everything is tied to one’s adventuring level and since the game is by design slanted towards chomping through content, then adventuring and chomping through content sort of end up being most people’s default choice. Fighting stuff is very rarely my activity of choice in any game, and in EQ2 there’s still always more to do than I have time to do it in — which is exactly what I want from an MMO.

I could mention guilds as levellable entities, collections, appearance slots (so that you don’t have to look quite as ridiculous as you do in WoW), art style (it’s on the brown extreme but it’s learning to be more chromatic)… but I won’t, since we only get 5 slots. Go add your own to the comments here or to Syp’s.

Other bloggers to have joined this meme-in-the-making include Stropp, whom I may have had a hand in luring to EQ2 in the first place.  /halo. See also this Elder Game article kindly linked to by one of Syp’s commenters, since it’s an oldish post; good read!

Last but not least, Happy Thanksgiving to those who are celebrating it today in the US.

Categories: Crafting, Design, EQ2, MMO Tags: , ,
  1. JC
    November 26, 2009 at 9:08 am

    I posted a little in his comments. Totally forgot to mention mentoring, and yet still had a list of 9, not 5. Oops!

  2. November 26, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Ah ha! I took up Syp’s challenge too :)

    The really interesting thing is that many of my points are totally different from yours… showing that actually EQ2 has a ton of qualities (certainly more than 5) which are better than WoW.

  3. Tesh
    November 26, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Ah, but no pet pandas.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. November 27, 2009 at 4:08 am

    Maybe I’d like EQ2 more than WoW, then :)

    • November 27, 2009 at 7:26 am

      If you can stand the art, which is as … unique as WoW’s, if very different, and if you can stand the initial few days/weeks of “wtf I have no clue what to do! overload! overload!” — then yes, you might like it. :D

  5. Jerry
    November 27, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Agree on every point regarding EQ2. In fact, to me, EQ2’s only real weakness is the incredibly cheesy and derivative Norrathian fantasy world. But the gameplay is top-notch, which makes it the game/world I always return to once I’ve run out of things to do in whatever other game I’m currently playing (Mage of Conan, LOTRO, etc.). And yes, I know many players love Norrath. More power to them. There’s no accounting for personal taste ;^)

  6. November 27, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    I loved EQ2. I can feel it pulling at me.

  7. November 27, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Aw now see that just hurts, considering I was writing about the same exact thing Feb 2008, which only goes to show bloggers have no more original content to post anymore

    http://hudshideout.com/?p=155

    and

    http://hudshideout.com/?p=154

    • November 27, 2009 at 11:56 pm

      Then I’ll have to live with not being original. /shrug

      I’m not sure I get your point. Stuff about existing MMOs is rehashed endlessly every few months — WoW is no exception, and of course neither is EQ2. For those who already play it’s a chance to be nostalgic (or whatever), and for those who don’t, it’s either interesting or it isn’t. Either way, no problem.

      Nobody seems to care when this happens at the pub about {insert sports team}. Why is repetition such a big deal when it comes to games or blogging about games? They’re both entertainment, and they both lead to the same kind of apparently pointless reminiscing/theorising. The whole point, if there needs to be one, is that it’s fun. (I don’t find the whole sports droning stuff fun, but I can see how some people clearly do.)

      Still trying to figure out if you commented here just to be mean, or if you were making a general comment about bloggers. Not that it particularly matters in the greater scheme of things. In any case, as far as my particular blog is concerned, it’s “MMO musings and commentary”, not “MMO cutting edge news and absolutely no repetition, evar!” ;)

  8. December 1, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    I know this isn’t the purpose of the post, but I tend to be on the other side of the fence for most of those points which is likely why I am playing WoW. :)

    These are all my preference (‘better than’ is a matter of opinion):

    1. Crafting? It’s a salad to the main course, which I can skip if I want to.

    2. Guild Halls? I can do without. I want to log in, do some stuff and log out. Or while I’m in game, I want to be playing or doing something, not just hanging out.

    3. Housing? I don’t see a purpose for it. It’s another cash drain really, at least that’s how I see it. It’s a device to support the other crafting spheres.

    4. Mentor? I agree with this one. I’d love to be able to mentor down to lower levels and help out friends or family or just to do content in a legitimate way. Though to be honest, mentoring down still leaves you more powerful that someone of that level in that you still keep the extra abilities someone of that level wouldn’t have access to; it’s just reduced in power (i.e. my Warden mentored down to level 10 would still have the Tree of Life, all the instant cast HoTs and so on).

    5. I’m not really sure what you’re getting at here. For me a game is a game. I play it, I have fun or I don’t continue to play it. It’s there to be a source of entertainment so it had better be a theme park, but just because it’s a theme park doesn’t mean it has to have one ride.

    Each to their own.

    As for my list (comment section hijack):

    1. Upgradable Spells/Abilities – even if I didn’t like how mundane the abilities felt, it is neat to have this scale allowing more development and growth of the character in more ways than just gear.

    2. Mentoring – as I mentioned above, I agree.

    3. Guild Levels – I always thought this was a great idea and it encouraged some degree of loyalty or community. (WoW will be getting this soon)

    Sorry, I ran dry after three. Again, with my playstyle and preferences in mind, that is about all that EQ2 has over WoW or has that is unique to EQ2 that I would want in WoW.
    :)

  1. November 28, 2009 at 8:18 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 371 other followers

