Archive

Archive for August 27, 2010

IronWoman LOTRO – I’m rich! Rich, I tell ya!

August 27, 2010 5 comments

So I’m about halfway through this no-quests week, by my own freaky internal gaming calendar (taking out days where I can’t play, phases of the moon, hangovers, etc. etc.). It’s been a really interesting and really really fun trip so far.

Warning: Incoming wall of text.

Read more…

The Secret World – Video Intro to the Templars

August 27, 2010 15 comments

NEWS!

OMG OMG OMG NEWS! Of the visual variety!

Be still my heart.

Go there. Watch. It’s a mix of game footage and interviews with Da Man himself. Then, if you’re into that sort of thing (and I used to be but my RL time is rather more limited than it was), go to the forums and froth the crap out of it. I haven’t watched all of it myself yet because the 720HD version won’t stream properly for some reason. I guess I could watch it in crappier low-def… but I’ll wait a bit more.

Hype, I welcome thee. Face-hug and chest-burst me with antici………….patory goodness!

There will be a beta and I will be in it.*

Even if Ardua is a nasty Tramplar. As far as beta’s concerned he’s my bestest bud. Mwah mwah!

*And if wishes were horses I’d own the Ponderosa Ranch. Yeehaw, Hoss!

How many Chthulhu and other refs can you spot?

Categories: MMO, The Secret World Tags: , ,

Is this a Grind I see before me?

August 27, 2010 6 comments

This “grind” thing is something I think about now and then on my very own, but recent internet teacup storms and my own no-quests experiment in LOTRO have pushed it to the forefront again.

A little context won’t hurt. First there’s the reported “ZOMG I WON”T BE GETTING ANY XP THIS IS FUCKING UNFAIR!!” fatigue system that’s apparently going into FF XIV. Lots of people have commented on that in various places and, for the record, it’s not the first time such a system has been mooted. Just Google it if you want some links. The Shwayder, however — he of Nerfbat fame — wrote something this morning that hit a nerve with me and that I’ll quote here, because I’m more interested in the concept of grinding right now than in whether there will or won’t be an xp-shackle system in FF XIV.

Read more…

Categories: Design, MMO Tags: , , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers