Home > MMO > Elder Game sez I’m dumb

Elder Game sez I’m dumb

Not really, but it was tempting.

Elder Game actually says they’re tired of punditry, which I can empathise with, and I don’t even have actual MMO-developing skills to fall back on. Hence the echoing non-postiness of this site these last few months.

I’m sure I could find things to say about MMOs, but the inspiration balance is more delicate than I realised. I’m doing it for cold hard cash once a week already (writing, you pervs!), and every week I sit there thinking OMFG what am I going to write this time? It’s different when someone’s paying you, which I should have known from the start, and I’m not certain it’s different in a good way. I’ve got a whole lot of other stuff going on too, some of it pleasant, some of it less so, which distracts me from spending 30-60 minutes posting on a regular basis (i.e. more than twice a month).

And, as EG so rightly points out, there’s only so many times one can say the same thing before it becomes boring to write. It doesn’t matter whether the audience likes it or not or whether they mind the rehash — I don’t have any objection whatsoever to reading rehash on my favourite sites, but writing it is a special kind of pointless tedium that might be better spent picking one’s nose.

Blog hive-mind synchronicity in action. I’ve just spent the last few days telling myself I really should post more to this blog, because I miss it, but then stumbling on the actual content-creation part. I just don’t have much I want to write about here, not that I haven’t written a million times already anyway.

Someone get me a beta spot on TSW already. I could use the distraction. Ahem – once the NDA comes down, anyway.

Categories: MMO Tags: , , ,
  1. June 18, 2011 at 10:12 am

    It’s awesome that you have a paid writing gig :)

  2. June 18, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    To some extent he’s still being a pundit, but using the vocabulary of a game designer rather than a writer. When Project Gorgon is ready it will be his way of saying to the world “see? this is what you guys were doing wrong” just as much as any of his blog posts.

    Unless it’s a WoW clone of course.

  3. June 19, 2011 at 1:06 am

    I say you’re not dumb, and I’m much cooler than Elder Game.

    So, uh, write more on here! :P

    • Tesh
      June 22, 2011 at 10:27 am

      What he said… except I’m terribly uncool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

