Home > Site > Blogstuff – Search Engine Terms

Blogstuff – Search Engine Terms

Every now and then I look at the search engine terms people use to get to my blog, and some of them are priceless, so I’ve decided to keep track of them. Yes, I stole this idea off someone though I can’t recall who. I’m thinking maybe TAGN? Anyway it’s an homage, not outright plagiarism.

(And then I found the handy-dandy link that lets you see all the search terms for your blog, evar. If you don’t hear from me inside 2 weeks, someone come rescue me.)

In no particular order:

  • great old ones (my fave, with about 7 different entries including THE great old ones, lovecraft, cthulhu great old ones, etc.)
  • ysharros (no shock there)
  • boss don’t ever leave me in charge again
  • ack i’ve gone to look for myself
  • getting old
  • surprise cannibalism (this is a pretty high-up result. I’m wondering what I ever wrote to lead to this… mmmm BRAINZZZZZ)
  • thoughtless people suck (my mantra!)
  • do want (my other mantra)
  • marmite (4th all-time search term leading here. That’s several thousand irritated searchers…)
  • hungover
  • captain hindsight
  • group hug
  • persistence of time
  • nothing
  • very tired
  • صور خيالية  (if you can read this, do let me know what it says – according to Google translate, it’s “fantasy”. I’m disappointed)
  • kindness (awww)
  • internet addict (shaddap!)
  • katana woman (I am slicey, hear me rawr!)
  • The Beatles’ Happy Birthday (only about a million times… I guess I used a picture?)
  • no
  • not tonight Josephine
  • various Iain M Banks & Culture search variants (from a single post, years ago, IIRC)
  • animaux cute (Well ‘ello my British chums!)
  • stop posting shit

Guess I’d better follow that last piece of advice…

Categories: Site Tags: ,
  1. July 19, 2012 at 8:39 am

    It is part of my month in review post usually, but I am sure I stole it from somebody else. One of my favorite variations is The Road to Popehat over at popehat.com. But their topics lead to some interesting searches.

    From your list, I particularly like “surprise cannibalism,” but cannot figure out if the surprise came to those eating (guess what’s in the stew!) or the person being eaten (wait, are you eating me?).

    • July 19, 2012 at 9:16 am

      That surprise cannibalism is definitely a winner. I’m still trying to figure it out too.

  2. July 19, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Most of mine are pretty sane, but my favorite so far is “things that make you dizzy.”

  3. July 19, 2012 at 9:54 am

    I think it was Lum who originally did the search terms, at least among the MMO bloggers.

    Most of mine are too boring to post. :/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 373 other followers

