Thought for the day

To all you other bloggers out there — do your older posts seem a whole lot more interesting than what you’re writing now? Because I scanned through a few old entries (no reason, just passing some time) and that’s how it seems to me.

I used to actually have something to say about games, the universe and everything. Now, not so much.

Of course, 50+ hour work weeks might be cramping my style.

Or maybe I’m just nostalgic today. One random thing that did occur to me last night is that “long ago” doesn’t seem nearly as long ago when you get older. When you’re 5, 3 weeks is prehistory and 10 years ago means nothing. When you’re 15, you can just about grasp 5 years ago but 20-30 seems like another epoch. For me, now that I’m past my second score of years, 50 or 100 years ago doesn’t seem as distant as it used to.

Eh, maybe it’s not as interesting a thought as it seemed. At 1AM when you can’t sleep, everything seems profound.

12 thoughts on “Thought for the day

  1. I like re-reading my older posts from time to time. They’re topics-gone-by, and probably not really relevant anymore (or not as relevant). I think we end up surrounding ourselves with “current topics” over the course of days or weeks, and we’re not yet detatched from the topic. We don’t appreciate it with hindsight like we do on the older posts.

  2. I agree. To the point where I’ve toyed off an on with the idea of hanging up my cleats. I’m just not posting as much, in as much detail, or with the kind of quality I used to.

    Plus there’s all these new young whippersnappers with their fancy blog themes and twitter feeds and articles on politically correct gaming. Maybe we’re just getting (blogger) old.

  3. Working has a lot to do with it, IMO. I’ve been working two jobs for a couple years now and for me at least, I have the option of crafting a worthwhile blog post OR banging something out and then actually playing a game. Only so many hours in a day.

    Plus all games suck these days. :) <– curmudgeon injection

  4. I’m posting way less than I used to and in less details than I used to.

    Why?

    Sometime I just rather play the damn game than to have to worry about writing about writing about playing the game. I’d rather be playing…,

  5. I have made a point since my first anniversary of going back to see what I was writing one year back… and now I go five years back.

    I am not sure if posts are more interesting, but my perspective has certainly changed from time to time. I am less likely to gush about minor things that I often wrote about early on.

    I think over time that my most interesting posts seem to involve me or my group screwing up, getting lost, or dying horribly. There is no doubt a lesson in that for all of us.

    • Screwups and horrible deaths always make the best gaming stories – and have since the days of tabletop. The victories aren’t nearly as fulfilling or fun without all the stuff that went wrong along the way.

  6. Working and partly a lack of new things to say is a big contributor to the less important postings. It becomes less about general stuff and more about what’s going on (or so I find).

  7. Yes. Absolutely.

    The fact is, MMOs aren’t as vibrant and dynamic a field as one would hope. The MMOs today are much like the MMOs last year, which in turn are much like the MMOs of the year before that. And that’s ok; it’s unreasonable to expect massive continual change. But the downside of this kind of glacial change is fairly straightforward: I feel like I’ve already shared most of my thoughts on playing/designing modern MMOs. Yes, there are iterative advances… and sure, there are ways in which newer games are exciting and interesting… but the big picture hasn’t really changed all that much. I still feel the same about the lack of actual agency players have in MMOs; I still feel the same about running errands for other people instead of being able to choose what’s interesting to my character; I still feel the same about static worlds where nothing really changes over time. But I’ve already talked about those things, and I don’t want to repeat myself. Again. Over and over. Repetitively. Redundantly. Just repeating. Over and over. Again. Repetitively. Also redundantly.
    :D

  8. I get this too. I think from following the games industry a lot more closely, it’s very easy to feel like things have already been said, or with Twitter moving so quickly, something even two days old can feel irrelevant. :\

  9. I feel like this happens to everyone. Sometimes you feel the need to make a post just for the sake of making a post. The gaming industry in general gets redundant as Debbie has written, it is very hard to stay ahead of the game and be cutting edge as far as new info goes.

    Once in a while you can hit your stride and come up with great content, when I do this I try to keep writing as much as possible and then store articles for different timed releases. I have done this in the past and it is nice to be releasing fresh content even when you are going through a spell of writer’s block

  10. I felt like I had something to say, and it was always a great debate between what would be good or bad in games etc etc. Then I realized I was out of stuff to say, and I wasn’t really changing any minds. Games were the passion. Blogging? Not as much. So I stopped.

Comments are closed.