The (wo)man with two games

While I haven’t been able to even log into The Secret World in about a month (work, travel, yadda yadda), I did at least get it properly updated yesterday, even if I didn’t actually find any time to play.

And today, my best intentions to the contrary, the spousal unit casually says “You know, those Guild Wars 2 reviews are looking pretty good. Maybe I would like to play it after all.” Since it was his lack of interest that managed to hold me back from pre-ordering (well, that and work, travel, yadda yadda), we immediately headed out to the store* and picked up a couple of copies. It’s not like I’d been drooling over all the screenshots and reviews from fellow bloggers – not to mention Twitter and Facebook updates and actually seeing the game on friends’ computers. Nope. I was resisting. I was being good. It’s all his fault.

It’s installing as I write. I’m not sure how I’m going to find the time for GW2 when I don’t have the time for TSW or WoW or the Sims or indeed anything other than 5 minutes of FreeCell here and there, but it’s a NEW GAME!!!11oneone and, even bigger bonus, it’s free to play. Since TSW is essentially subs-free as well, that’s like Two Good Things all at once.

I know TSW isn’t actually free to play, but the lifetime sub already paid for itself in my view. I’ve probably played maybe 70 hours total, counting futzing around on characters I abandoned and not counting the many hours spent in Beta, so we’re already talking less than $4/hour. Whichever way you slice it, MMOs are still a damn sight cheaper per hour of entertainment than, say, movies.

So now I’m like the woman with two manstresses, or whatever you want to call it. Both are low-maintenance, neither of them is going to get pissy with me if I don’t have time to devote to them, neither of them requires to be taken to dinner, and both will be there whenever I fancy a bit of fun. God only knows how (or if) I’ll find time for Mists of Pandaria when that comes out in a few weeks…

* In the interests of full disclosure I should note that we got a new car last week, that it’s more car than I’ve ever had in terms of power AND bells and whistles, and that we’re jumping into the car and going for a drive on the slightest of tiny excuses. I’ve probably run more “errands” this week and done more mileage than in the last 6 months combined.

3 thoughts on “The (wo)man with two games

  1. I’ve been playing TSW and GW2; they actually complement each other well. TSW is lore-heavy; most of the stuff happening in game has deep and dark secrets behind it, based on real-world myths and legends. That’s a game that rewards us for trying to puzzle everything out. It’s also a game with extraordinary customization, which in turn rewards putting a lot of time and thought into theorycrafting. TSW, in short, is a game that requires that we put a fair amount of effort into it to get the most back out of it.

    GW2 is much lighter and fluffier. There isn’t much required of us as players to be honest; it’s mechanically easier and there aren’t any puzzles, unless you count a bit of jumping/platforming. It is however huge and there’s a lot to do and see. It’s a game that rewards exploration and encourages us to just wander around a bit aimlessly.

    Both of these are excellent games. Both have aspects that are superior to the other, in my view. Given I also have a lifetime TSW sub, both games are essentially free-to-play, which gives me a refreshing sense of freedom to just do whatever seems fun at the time.

Leave a Reply

