Home > Gaming > SimCity – mea culpa

SimCity – mea culpa

While lots of people are probably going to say this isn’t enough, it’s still nice that they’re trying to do something.

The full post is worth a read – it’s pretty short, but I don’t want to reproduce it verbatim. TL;DR below.

So what went wrong? The short answer is: a lot more people logged on than we expected. More people played and played in ways we never saw in the beta.

OK, we agree, that was dumb, but we are committed to fixing it. In the last 48 hours we increased server capacity by 120 percent. It’s working – the number of people who have gotten in and built cities has improved dramatically. The number of disrupted experiences has dropped by roughly 80 percent.

So we’re close to fixed, but not quite there. I’m hoping to post another update this weekend to let everyone know that the launch issues are behind us.

And, by way of apology, “we’re going to offer you a free PC download game from the EA portfolio”. Again, lots of folks will say that’s like piling poo on top of crap, but I like that they’re trying to do something, even if it’s not something that costs them all that much in terms of bottom line. ANY effort to make things right is better than no effort at all. Mistakes (or major screwups) happen – what matters to me at the end of the day is acknowledgement and some attempt to fix things down the line.

  1. March 9, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    Didn’t I say they’d give some variation on the “Oh, look, we’re SOOOO popular!” excuse? :)

    • March 9, 2013 at 6:41 pm

      Well ya, but what else could they really say? Part of the problem is, it’s true. I was able to play a couple of hours today with no issues and I will say, it’s FUN. I made my own little region so other than the always-online thing (which is an increasing requirement for all sorts of things so I guess I’d better just suck that up), you certainly *can* play solo.

      • March 9, 2013 at 11:47 pm

        It’s not so much what they could say, but rather that it’s better to have too few servers than too many to get this kind of PR coup.

  2. March 10, 2013 at 7:18 am

    Not sure I would have called it a coup, heh. Then again, I guess the old adage holds – any publicity ends up being good publicity? There’s another disgruntled EA employee letter floating around now…

  3. Feed The Beast
    May 14, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after going through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

  4. Seth
    April 12, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    Haven’t played this game in so long…kinda miss it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

