WAR: RvR? From a carebear? At 2 o’clock in the morning?*

Those who know me will already know that I have a deep-seated and vehement aversion to PvP. Those who don’t – just take my word for it. I. Don’t. Like. PvP.

I used to think it was because I was constantly getting killed, and was therefore really crap at playing against other people. I used to think it was also because I Bartle out as SEA, meaning I don’t really care enough about fighting stuff, let alone other players, to want to be good at it. I was certain it was because ultimately, I’m much more into making things than I am into killing things, hard as that may be to achieve in many of the Mickey Mouse crafting mini-games most MMOs currently have. (For the record, to my mind only SWG and Horizons ever had something akin to a “real” crafting system, which implies having a real craft-based economy, not a loot-based economy. But that’s for another post on another day.)

Now, I know it’s also because PvP has no immediate aim other than killing each other, whereas RvR (Realm versus Realm) is about advancing the aims of your “side.” In other words, RvR has a larger purpose beyond slaughtering other people, and PvP does not. The aim of PvP does not attract me; however, as a cooperative person/player, the aim of RvR, as I have discovered, does. (JoBildo put this very well in the CoW forums, as did others, but those are in the guild only section; speaking of which, open recruitment ends very soon, so if you’re interested, head over there now.)

Thanks to Warhammer: Age of Reckoning, I’m discovering the joys of killing people for a cause. And I’m discovering that I’m not as crap at it as I thought. Having the right purpose is motivating me to give it more than a passing try, which is giving me a chance to actually learn how to fight other players as opposed to silly game-controlled monsters (which I enjoy, though even I can’t argue they show much in the way of inventive tactics). I have shouted “Die, mofo, die die DIE!!!” at my screen more than once in the last few weeks. It’s oddly liberating.

This isn’t intended as a lesson in fighting other people — there are plenty of guides out there done by people far more knowledgeable and experienced than I. It is intended to encourage others who also think they “suck at” and/or “hate” PvP. RvR is an entirely different beast. It may still not be your cup of tea at the end of the blood-soaked day, but I can confidently assert that it’s at least worth a try. Which means you may as well try out WAR, in case you weren’t planning to already.

*If you actually get this really, really oblique reference, you win a virtual cookie. If you don’t, no worries, it wasn’t that witty.

One response to “WAR: RvR? From a carebear? At 2 o’clock in the morning?*

  1. I too ‘hate’ PvP (Master Ranger in SWG as it got me away from people and kept my Artisans in raw materials) but am finding that I *really* like RvR in WAR.

    I hadn’t really thought about why until I read your article and yes, it very probably is because it’s not just about killing n many of the other side, or the same members of the other side n many times, but because your efforts are part of something bigger.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go cackle madly at the screen while chasing healers with a ruddy big axe… it’s fun 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.