Practice makes perfect(er)

Scenarios in Warhammer Online are a new thing to me. People keep comparing them to WoW’s battlegrounds but I thought those last longer? Anyway.

I have hated every scenario I’ve done in WAR, which is… five to date. Three Tier1 scenarios and a couple of the T4 scenarios back in the beta template days. The reason I’ve hated them is because I sucked at them; it’s amazing how understanding something and being more familiar with it can improve your opinion of said thing.

I had to do Khaine’s Embrace probably 15 times before I ever saw my side (Order OR Destruction) win. Yeah, I felt like a jinx. Fact that I kept trying it on level 2-5 chars didn’t help, either, though I wasn’t aware of that to begin with.

I spent most of those “failed” scenarios tearing my hair out and castigating myself for being a crap player and, therefore, a crap person. The player thing is no doubt true — in WAR as with many other games, knowing the ins and outs of the class you’re playing is pretty important, and I’m a slow learner. The person thing is just my wounded pride. Several times I said “Screw you guys! I’m going home! No more scenarios for me! I will ONLY do the PvE stuff in WAR! So there!”

And then, shockingly enough, I *did* start learning. I also died a little more slowly as my million alts levelled up, which gave me a bit more time to look around, see the sights, figure out tactics, and see how other folks needed to play their classes to be most effective, and how I could help. Khaine’s Embrace became a lot more fun when I learned to RUN!! and then even more fun when I learned to hold our flag. Rule #1 of T1 Scenarios: don’t give up your flag. Now I do scenarios for a bit of light relief from hot’n’heavy PQs. No, really.

Oh yes, chase and cutting to. I went from hating to loving Khaine’s Embrace (or Khaine’s Kablooie), and Nordenwatch was never particularly hateful apart from all that slogging through damp sand. Gates of Ekrund, however, the dwarven T1 scenario, I swore I would never like, nor even remotely tolerate.

That’s because the first 6 times I did it, I died horribly, along with everyone else on the Order side. I’d have been among those bleating that Destro owns all, those bastards with their OP DoKs and Chosen and waaaah! (or WAAAGH!) — except that I’ve played Destro lowbies and I’ve seen all that whining in reverse. Just use Bright Wizard and Warrior Priest instead.

Yesterday, Mortigui and Amariel ventured into Gates of Ekrund for the first time since we started playing “for real,” because we’re being completist (on which subject, remind me to tell you about Engine Number Nine one of these days). We wanted to do all three T1 scenarios before leveling out of their reach.

And it went well! We ran it three times in the end. Won two, lost one. All went to 500 for the winning side, but the losing side had 200+ so it wasn’t a wipeout. As usual, getting to know a scenario helps — for which, not dying 50′ from the respawn point and being able to take a few hits also helps. Once you know the lay of the land, you can start working out tactics around flags. Once you have that down, you can start thinking about stealing the other side’s flags.

Practice really does help. So if you’re dying and dying and having a horrible time in scenarios, here’s some free advice, so it’s worth what you paid for it.

1) If it’s really that horrid, wait a few levels. Don’t rush into scenarios at Rank2 — nothing says you have to go in before rank5, or 8, or 10 or whatever is comfortable for you. 12, however, is too high.

2) Don’t think you’ll perform perfectly the first time you do a given scenario. The guys who designed these did a pretty clever job. Terrain irritations are intentional. You really DO get better the more times you do these. If you’re perfect already, bugger off. We don’t like your inhuman kind here.

3) Ya win some, ya lose some. If I, hater of all things PvP and hater-even-more of all things corpse related, am learning to take death with a laugh, so can you.

Good luck!

One response to “Practice makes perfect(er)

  1. Having done them all, Khaine’s Kablooie (which is now it’s official name in my lexicon) is probably my least favourite. Perhaps because it’s the last one I tried? I dunno.

    I like the Gates and Nordenwatch is amusing unless you get a group that just zergs from one flag to the next, leaving the other side to send on guy to each of the other two flags to cap them whilst the rest of the 8 pound the crap out of your side >.<

    I think I was lucky with my Rune Priest going into the Gates as I twigged early on that my best strategy was spamming heals on whoever I could see and if I started to take damage to jump down to the middle flag, pull a u-turn and leg it back up to the first flag. Mostly by that time either a) my opponent can’t be arsed to follow me all that way and picks on someone else or b) as they’ve spotted I’m a healer, a squad of death goons chase me to the ends of the earth which has the benefit of said goon squad not toinking someone else for the duration (albeit admittedly brief) that I keep their attention while spamming heals to try to keep myself.

    Like

Comments are closed.