Thing that make you go oooo

For my money, you can’t beat a good sky for adding atmosphere and immersion to a game. I don’t know why, but I like sky. LOTRO’s skies were marvellous, except that the clouds all moved round and round the horizon, which once I’d noticed it I found difficult to ignore. Still, they were probably the best I’ve seen so far.

WAR’s skies aren’t bad either though. Here’s a couple of screenies I took today. Forgive the lack of antialiasing — never mind the jaggies, look at those colours! One is the Blighted Isle, and the other is the Nordland starting area. Turner would be proud.

One response to “Thing that make you go oooo

  1. Funny you mention atmosphere. I like it when there are appropriate atmospheric effects, like smart lighting, fog effects, and, yes, great clouds. Good reflections and water also go a long way in selling a setting to me. Good color schemes are vital as well; oversaturation or too-high or too-low contrast are bad on the old eyes.

    Like

Comments are closed.