I’m a twit

How about you? This is me.

I’m not entirely sold on the Twitter thing, especially since for the first few months I was signed up, I couldn’t follow and I couldn’t post, which entirely defeated the purpose. I don’t know why I couldn’t — the buttons simply would. not. work. in any browser or twitterish client I could find. Now, suddenly, they do. For now, anyway — first time around it sucked me in by working for a day or two before stopping.

Like I said, I’m not quite certain I get the point, because I’ve never really understood the need to know what people are doing 24/7; but I’ve read a few descriptions lately that place it more in the “long-drawn-out, asynchronous conversation” type area (thanks dmosbon and cuppy), which could be interesting. Besides, there’s a Twitter meme going around this week and for once I’m going to jump on the bandwagon, see where it’s going.

If you’re a Twit, let me know below so I can take appropriate stalking following measures.

9 responses to “I’m a twit

  1. /pasmith

    Twitter is what you make of it. If you’re following someone that reports what they’re doing every minute of the day, dump ’em (unless you find it interesting for some reason).

    I use it as a micro-blogging tool. People share interesting links or news snippets. That sort of thing. The signal-noise ratio isn’t great, but then it’s pretty low impact.

    You *do* need to let go of any sense of being a completist with it, though. That was my biggest hurdle. When I check Twitter I don’t try to “catch up” with everything I missed…down that path lies madness. I just see what’s going on in that moment. Think of it like walking into a bar or a party… you don’t expect to know everything that’s been said since the last time you visited that place. 🙂

    Y’know, I write more on your blog than on mine these days… 🙂

    Like

  2. The only time I compose short comments that would fit on Twitter are when I’m commenting in quick pithy quips on someone else’s blog. Taken out of context, such are even less meaningful than they already are.

    …which is to say that I’d rather perform brain dumps on my blog, so come on by! 😉

    Like

  3. Today is a perfect example of why I love Twitter. I heard about the plane crash-landing in the Hudson via Twitter and was able to catch the events going down live. Pretty amazing to watch the rescue operation.

    Without Twitter I would’ve heard about it eventually… but only after the fact. I like the immediacy it offers.

    Like

Comments are closed.