Shoulda taken a left at

bugs-abq

It’s ROAD TRIP time!! We’re going to Albuquerque for the weekend to see some friends, one f whom is an old colleague/friend of my mum’s whom she hasn’t seen in 20 years. Catching up with old friends is pretty neat at any time, but having an excuse for a road trip out of it is even better.

As a result, posting will be sparse-to-nonexistent until sometime next week when we’re forced to come back here. If I had my druthers, I think I’d stay up there where it’s cooler at night, they have mountains, and they know what snow looks like (without necessarily having to shovel 6 feet of it away every week).

The balloon thingy you see below is actually taking place this week, maybe we’ll be able to catch the tail end of it.

(See what I did there? Bugs bunny reference? Tail? — Jeez, tough crowd.)

Oh, and it’s my birthday. It’s not a big-Oh so I’m not as unexpectedly freaked out as I was last year, and I’m far too worn out from the maternal visit to really care, but it’s here and it’s today and I STILL don’t see a pony in my back garden. WTF?!

972005Hot_air_balloons_Albuquerque-sm

13 responses to “Shoulda taken a left at

  1. Happy birthday!

    Small world, my parents (retired, full-time RVers) were just at the balloon festival and are now on their way to Indy for the holidays.

    Like

  2. *Cough* Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday Ysharros, happy birthday to you.

    And here’s hoping you don’t end up at the South Pole with penguins that cry ice cubes!

    Like

  3. A couple of years ago the wife and I celebrated our anniversary with a weekend at Carmel-by-the-Sea. We took the usual route north up the 5 but decided to come back via the much longer scenic coastal route, and that’s how I discovered Pismo Beach really exists.

    I insisted we stop there for lunch and the wife shook her head in bewilderment as I took several photos of the Pismo Beach signs.

    “Honey, it’s Pismo Beach!”

    “Okay, and…”

    Clearly she is not a patron of the classics.

    Like

  4. So sad when the classics are neglected. I remember being shocked when I found out my wife hadn’t seen Star Wars. I thought that was one movie that even non-scifi fans had seen.

    I’ve been slowly buying the Looney Tunes golden collection DVDs so I can properly educate my son.

    Like

  5. Thanks all and thanks ahead if there are more — I’m now out to do fun non-computerish things, eat like a pig, maaaaybe even have a drink, and make sure I have a crashing hangover to take on the road with us tomorrow.

    That’s how things are done, right? 😀

    Like

  6. Wotcha Ysharros,

    Happy Birthday.

    Always revel in your age. It makes young people nervous.

    Cheers,
    Hawley.

    Like

Comments are closed.