Of Pink Ribbons

breast_cancer_awareness_ribbon.xlargeTheerivs just kindly reminded me that I can use my blog as a pulpit, and that some pulpits are worth banging on. Just not too hard in the case of this one, since it’s National Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Even if there isn’t a worldwide day (and for all I know there may be), this is a findable and, if found in time, often treatable and beatable disease that deserves exposure*.

I lost both my grandmothers to cancer, one of them to breast cancer itself. So boys, if you’re reading this, take a moment to think about boobs. — Okay, you’re done. I said you can stop now! Eh, lost em. And girls, remember to check for lumpy things and whatnot. Seriously, this stuff isn’t to be messed about with.

_ _ _

*What, on this topic of all topics I can’t do a little wardrobe malfunction punning? Pfft!

4 responses to “Of Pink Ribbons

  1. Hear hear! I spent the last week at the European Association of Nuclear Medicine annual conference, which was in scenic Barcelona this year. Besides the fact that Barcelona is a lovely city with superb food, I also attended because cancer research (the nuclear medicine end thereof) is my day job. Everyone you know – every one of your friends and acquaintances – knows someone who has or had cancer. Roughly 200,000 new cases of breast cancer will be detected next year in the U.S. alone. Self screening as well as annual mammograms for women over 35 literally saves hundreds of thousands of lives a year worldwide, and we’re working to increase that number.

    Amusingly, there probably won’t ever be a Prostate Cancer Awareness month, because guys are embarrassed to talk about it.

    Like

Comments are closed.