Toss another game on the play pile

HarbingerZero just posted something about STO that suddenly made me wonder why I let the game pass me by when it launched can’t-be-arsed-to-Google years ago. I know a bunch of other bloggers enjoyed it, and some are still noodling around with it now and then, so — and because I certainly don’t have enough games on my plate already — it’s sort of whispering at me to try it.

I think I’m being lured by the free T-shirt.

It's only a paper world*

It’s only a paper world*

I’ve always liked Star Trek but I don’t think I’m a Trekkie (unlike a few of my friends) (and besides, I thought all serious Trekkies wanted to be called Trekkers. Or am I being way too 1998?). I’m of the ST:TNG and DS9 generation, though I didn’t particularly care for Voyager and whatever the recent revival was (Enterprise?). I could answer a few ST trivia questions but would probably stumble on the more obscure ones, like who was the sexy green alien Kirk got off with in episode 23. No, not the first sexy green alien – that second one from the planet Murgatroyd.

So I’m not sure I’m the right material for this recruitment drive, but I like the package on offer and I also like the idea of leveling with folks who have been through it all before. The oldie/newbie teaming could be fun, provided the oldies don’t mind repeating content, and the newbies can know ahead of time what disastrous choices to avoid.

The drive doesn’t begin until April, which could be a good thing or a bad one. We’re kind of instant-gratification here in Gaming World, on the whole… But it does give me a month to mull things over and wait for my crappy internet to download the game.

– – –

* I’d link to the episode but all the ones I checked either stop short of the free T-shirt moment or mysteriously lose the sound right around the 14 minute mark. So those of you who watched Animaniacs can be smug and know the reference, while the rest of you will have to feel silly and under-pop-cultured.

 

(Also, and à propos nothing at all, the WordPress “Improved Posting Experience” is basically just like the SWG “New Gaming Experience”. It’s a steaming pile of useful-element-free “clean UI” bullshit. I don’t want to pretend I’m using an iPhone, I want to craft a bloody post.)

8 responses to “Toss another game on the play pile

  1. This is good news. Hope you’ll remind us when April rolls around. 🙂

    I tried STO in beta and flying was like trying to chase a cat across a marble strewn floor. I went everwhichaway but the way I wanted. Didn’t sign on when it went live, but later, some while after F2P happened, I made a character and did a few intro quests.

    Didn’t get very far again, but for a quite different reason. The graphics (cranked up to where Scotty should be whispering in my ear that the GPU fan cannae take it) were gorgeous. Instead of leveling, I ran around a high tech vineyard taking screenies.

    Iridescent blue hair! Fanciest earring ever! Phosphorescent tattoos!

    Haven’t played since… garrisons… :}

    Like

  2. As usual, we are on the same page lol. As far as I am concerned, the ST universe consists only of Next Generation, DS9, and select episodes of the Original Series.

    Oh, and Animaniacs is the greatest animated series of all time. That’s like, gospel truth or something.

    I’ve only done about half the Federation episodes, and zero of the Klingon episodes, so I’m probably in good shape for another run through. Most of my leveling the first couple of times around was with the duty officer system (sending your non-bridge officers on away missions that progress while you are offline).

    Like

  3. well,i agree with most of what you said. yet, “So I’m not sure I’m the right material for this recruitment drive, but I like the package on offer and I also like the idea of leveling with folks who have been through it all before. The oldie/newbie teaming could be fun, provided the oldies don’t mind repeating content, and the newbies can know ahead of time what disastrous choices to avoid.” the oldie/newbie thing is pretty bad,mostly because those “oldies” usually(from what i’v seen) are less into “socializing” with party members but just to get it over with an get the levels/farming done. again,saying from what i have seen.

    Like

  4. It sounds like a cool idea. I’ve been thinking I would like to see the game as it is now. I played it in beta but did not play on live because of some show stopping bugs and incomplete areas and systems.

    I don’t think I have room on my hard drive for another mmo, so I’ll look forward to your tales from the stars.

    Like

  5. Pingback: SWGeeeeeeeeeeeeeee | Stylish Corpse·

Comments are closed.