SWG – Mastery and Miscellany

This CH stuff is all from a couple of weeks ago, in fact, because times they have been pretty busy in the meantime. More on that later (briefly, as it’s mostly RL stuff).

Ysharros went out hunting with the Donkey Business crew and one of the graul mauler lairs on Dantooine spawned an elite at the end. And not just an elite, but an elite + elite baby. Said baby, a Graul Mangler, took no less than seventeen attempts to tame (and trying not to kill the damn thing every time it aggroed after a failed attempt), even with Ysh’s awesome +taming camo pants. She needs more +taming gear, I know, and some whatever-the-taming-bonus-food is. Anyway, she got him. Suggestions for names welcome.

Graul_mangler

Later that same day I hit Master Creature Handler and headed back to Theed, the home base of the Stylish Corpse alt-collective (but not for much longer). I decided to hang out in front of the spaceport a bit and show off my Master status and awesome pets (as is apparently all the rage in front of Coronet Spaceport); within a few seconds another Master CH joined me, pulled out some of her pets, and we got to talking. A couple of minutes later we had half a dozen creature handlers of various levels hanging out and talking shop, and that is exactly what I loved about SWG — the fact that hanging out and chatting with like-minded folks can trump whatever else you might have been about to do. I’m glad to see it’s alive and well in the Emulator.

Turns out the Graul Mangler baby is pretty rare. I wasn’t able to find any info on it and nobody else had seen one before. It is now level 39 (compared to the level 35 normal mauler), so not much help because you can’t pull him out with another graul since Master CH is limited to 70 levels of pets. Baby stats below. I’ll try to remember to take a shot of the grown-up stats.

mangler_statsIf anyone knows or remembers anything interesting about these guys, do let me know in the comments.

Another couple of I’m-a-Master-CH-aren’t-I-awesome screenshots and we’ll move on. Note that those maulers are baby sized; they’re about three times that now.

Graul_babies

Ysh_MasterCH

In more recent news, the Donkey Business crew has finally decided to join an existing player association, SWG-University or <SWG-U>. In an amazingly Luddite turn of events, SWG-U doesn’t have its own website *gasp!*, but they are nonetheless an excellent, friendly, helpful and fun group of people, at least the ones I met. Their basic tenet appears to be identical to mine in most respects, i.e. “Don’t be a dick” — except I’m more exclusive (Just DON’T be a dick) whereas in the EMU, SWG-U is more “Don’t be a dick with characters in our guild” — which is about all they can control anyway, so it makes sense. A few Donkeys have already moved to the PA’s town on Lok (University Campus), and I plan on doing so as soon as time allows, which should be this week because work and that pesky Real Life game are finally letting up a bit. That’s my Swordsman/Doctor to be, Heloise, admiring the Lokian night sky.

University_Campus_Lok

Speaking of Real Life, here’s one of the reasons I haven’t been able to play much lately:

Twiglet_and_CocoWe rescued two Basenji girls who had to be rehomed together as they are litter-sisters and have only ever known each other. I gather they were supposed to be breeding stock for a puppy breeding operation, but the breeder had trouble finding a male and just gave these girls to a rescue. I guess it’s good that the breeder at least decided to rehome them (she says, trying to be charitable). For those who like dogs, might like Basenjis, and might like to rescue one, here’s the link to the rescue site: Basenji Rescue and Transport (BRAT). Do your research though: these dogs are not for everyone, hence the name of the rescue org.

Because the foster-mom was unable to meet us halfway, we decided to drive up to Missouri and get them, which was an almost 2000-mile round trip and, while fun, totally wore us out. But it’s going very well so far — the new girls get on really well with our dogs but are quite wary around people, especially the black one – who as the pic shows is not easy to catch on camera.

So that’s one of the things I’ve been busy with lately, why I haven’t played much, and why I haven’t blogged much. Hopefully the next few weeks will be a bit less frenetic. I wouldn’t mind having time to log into WoW again either…

 

6 responses to “SWG – Mastery and Miscellany

  1. You’re making the SWG revival look incredibly enticing! I’m knee-deep in ESO and, despite finding it lackluster in beta, enjoying so many facets of it this time around. Enjoying it so much I’m neglecting WoW and my garrison is probably burned to the ground by disgruntled followers with nothing to do. =)

    Massive grats on the +taming jeans you must have in RL–those two pups are simply beautiful. They’re going to love being your companions, especially since you’ve given them the chance to stay together. Hope to hear lots more about them–names and antics! ❤

    Like

    • Believe it or not, they’re actually 2 years old. We did a double-take when we first saw them, as they are literally half the size of our other Basenji (who is admittedly a little porky, mostly due to being afflicted with Cushing’s disease 😉 ). It looks like they basically spent their lives in a crate… don’t get me started. But they seem healthy, were checked out by a vet a couple months back and will be checked out by our vet as soon as we reckon they can take the stress.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always thought the best game community I’ve seen was Galaxies. So far, the Emu folks are just as interesting and friendly as I recall. The SWG-U people are great. The Donkeys are of course most entertaining 🙂

    I understand how it is to love a particular dog breed. Those girls are so lucky to have been found by you. I’m sure they will feel secure and happy very soon.

    Like

  3. Ysh, your blog is now automatically fed in snippet form to the http://www.donkeybusiness.net website, just like I hoped was possible! 🙂 Only problem is with your feed it’s cut off at the source, not alowing me to set where the “read more” break starts, http://stylishcorpse.com/feed/ this for the most part excluding pics. e.x: http://obzzarver.com/index.php/blogs
    If theres something you can do to have it spit out raw feed instead of the pre-cut snippets, that would be neat. Otherwise, no big deal :))

    Like

  4. Ok great Post! On a non gaming note, I love that you talked about animal rescue issues. The breed you speak of definitely needs special attention and I am so very glad you spoke up! I am a total fan of rescues, its where my 2 dogs and 4 cats come from. Way to GO!!! You totally rock just for that!

    Like

Comments are closed.